Join CNET.com.au: Receive free newsletters, post to forums and win prizes. Sign up now!

Oi! Take a squiz at what's hot!

Google: AFL Saints have a devilish site

By Ella Morton on 26 February 2008

Tags: afl | football | google | malware | saints | site | flag

Punt it; it's malware!

Google reckons you'd be a fool to want to visit the Web site of the St. Kilda Saints' AFL team.

As Roger Thompson, Chief Research Officer at AVG Technologies, noted in a blog post, the footy site has been flagged with a malware warning. The result? Anyone who tries to Google their way to Saints fandom will be met with a message telling them their team's site is playing host to Internet nasties.

Would-be visitors must type the URL directly into their browser's address bar, as Google blocks direct access to the site in its search results.

The flagging is part of Google's measures to identify dangerous sites and prevent searches from landing among their sticky pages. But it seems that this time the good old Goog has ballsed it up.

As far as we can tell, there's nothing dodgy on the Saints' site -- apart from a few players sporting offensive hairstyles. So why has the site been flagged? Unfortunately, representatives from the Saints were unavailable, but Thompson from AVG's theory is that the site was hacked some time in the distant past, giving it a shady reputation with Google. Possible, but we also delight in rampant speculation and conspiracy theories, so any suggestions involving rival footy teams, bitter ex-players or site host BigPond are welcome in the comments below.

charlieb
26/02/2008 12:59 PM

Not just the Saints, have a search for 'Sydney Swans'

Report offensive content

MrGadget
26/02/2008 02:07 PM

Rival Footy Fan signing in!

Report offensive content

Ella Morton
Ella Morton
26/02/2008 04:05 PM

You're correct, charlieb. I just posted a more comprehensive follow-up story here: http://www.cnet.com.au/software/security/0,239029558,339286313,00.htm

Report offensive content

Muzo
26/02/2008 05:14 PM

Looks like giving Google the flick and yahoo's the go ps I use Google as my home page no more carn the saints

Report offensive content

canberra_photographer
canberra_photographer
28/02/2008 06:20 PM

Google provides warnings but there is a button on the warning age that allows you to continue to the site at your own risk. Google often flags websites reported to it as possibly "damaging computers" but still provide a way to visit if the user really wants to.

Report offensive content

Crows Fan
30/03/2008 07:10 PM

Probably just trying to prevent you from wandering upon a **** site devised by one of the worst performing clubs in the AFL's history...full credit to Google

Report offensive content

  • Leave a comment

All fields marked with * are required

What do you think

Your e-mail will not be displayed

You must read and type the 6 chars within 0..9 and A..F

You must read and type the 6 chars.


  • News

  • Features

  • Oi!

  • Must read

  • Memeo launches Share for sending photos to grandma

  • Do browsers need a 'best-before' date?

  • Free Speed: Make your Mac faster

  • Yahoo Go! hits 3.0

  • Powerhouse adds photos to Flickr Commons

  • New geotagging method draws on Flickr photos

  • Firefox 3: New front in the browser war

  • Bring thumbnails to life with SnapCasa

  • IE7Pro

More news »

Find the right software

Brand
  • Multiple options can be selected

    • Firefox 3

      Firefox 3

      If only for the speed, lightness of being and security alone, Firefox remains our Editors' Choice for best internet browser.

    • Opera 9.5

      Opera 9.5

      Long considered a cult favourite, Opera 9.5 for Windows and Mac has introduced some compelling improvements to security, speed and synchronisation — yes, syncing in a browser!— is there enough here to make you a convert?

    • Nokia Music Store

      Nokia Music Store

      If you can access the Nokia Music Store then we think it's worth a look; but Nokia isn't making it easy.

    • Adobe Media Player 1.0

      Adobe Media Player 1.0

      Adobe's Media Player is an excellent application that is beautifully designed and easy to use. Shame about the currently available content.

    • Adobe Photoshop Express Beta

      Adobe Photoshop Express Beta

      Though there's a lot to like about Adobe's first stab at online photo editing and sharing, you probably want to wait until the company fixes a few problems with the beta — and defangs its terms of service — before uploading scads of photos to Adobe Photoshop Express.

    More reviews »

    Membership benefits

    Create a personalised homepage

    Create a personalised homepage

    Choose your interests from our 16 categories and only see articles relevant to you. Sign up for a free CNET.com.au membership now!