Is this music download service a scam?
2006/11/01 11:25:01

I just subscribed to a music service that offers lifetime membership and unlimited free downloads. After payment of a one-off fee went through, I was prompted to download and install a program called Gnutella. Is this legitimate, or am I being scammed?
-- Submitted by: Anonymous, via e-mail
Answer by:
Ella Morton
Bad news -- it sounds like you've been caught out by some savvy scammers.
The site you have given money to is part of a group of scam sites that seeks to charge for a service that is otherwise free. This particular one provides "access" to Gnutella, a peer-to-peer (P2P) file-sharing program similar to Napster, LimeWire and BearShare. You can download it for free from multiple legitimate places, including CNET.com.au's Downloads section.
Basically, this scam site advertises "music downloads", but what they actually offer is the ability to download a file-sharing program that will allow you to search for audio files in other people's shared libraries. You have paid for something that you could have gotten for free, and any music you download will be obtained illegally.
Many of these sites appear legitimate, offering customer support and advertising on Google. However, you should be wary of any service that claims to offer unlimited music downloads for a one-off fee.
A site called p2pscams.info has established a list of known music scammers, or "rogue sites". If you're searching for a legitimate music download service, some local options are the iTunes store, NineMSN music, and sites partnered with Destra Music, such as JB Hi-Fi online For further information see Ditch the disc: A guide to online music in Australia.
Like this article? Click below to send it to your mobile for free!





Brendan
30/12/2006 07:40 PM
I'm from Australia, and one of your sponsored links at the end of the article was to iTune-com.au... THIS site IS a scam site just like you were speaking of. Note the - instead of .com.au How about removing these "sponsored" links from your site, since advertising these "savvy" people are operating under your noses. Maybe it would also be prudent to check the links you are advertising. Thanks for confirmation on the site being a scam. Cheers
Report offensive content
raj
05/01/2007 01:50 PM
i've just paid up for this site. well i HAVE been ripped off! I'm new to the 'great internet' and this is a lesson? I'm 56yrs old, born in Uganda, lived all my life in London, retired in India, with a small pension from Br Telecom-& I've been RIPPED OFF!!! This may not be the the site to air my complaints, but as I said i dunno where else to go. well cheers mate, brenden, but England WILL get the ASHES back. We just felt sorry for old Warny. Have a beer on me.
Report offensive content
lolz
09/10/2007 09:51 PM
yes yes it is
Report offensive content
low
21/08/2008 03:25 PM
use limewire its free
Report offensive content